A Room for Angel Fundraiser

11143328_10205458902484919_6874218193045755741_o

A Room for Angel Autism Assistance

Please consider sharing this post to get it moving around.

–    Never in my whole life have I asked for money for myself or my family.  I have always worked for what I have, so what I am about to do is a very humbling experience. It is however for my son, and I would do anything for him.  A was diagnosed with Autism in May.  He is currently three (four in October) and non verbal.  Daily he melts down, can be aggressive and grinds his teeth continuously.  As a mother of several kids, this has been a very painful experience, he is our everything and so amazing, but it has really changed our life.  I also recognize how naive I was, I never even thought I could have a child with disabilities let alone two.  Not my brightest moment, I should have been more prepared.

–     Those of you that have read my blog in the past know that I am a high school teacher and my husband currently stays home with our two special needs kids.  At this time there is no school in my state that does not have a two-year waiting list for my son, so my husband stopped working and takes the kids to their therapy appointments and stays up with them at night. Teachers salaries are rough in this state, we rank 49/50 states for salaries, it is a bit of a nightmare. Teaching was my calling, but now I can’t provide for my own family.

–     After many tears, I have decided to leave my teaching job.  I have taught at the same school for almost ten years.  I recognize that my son only has me and I need to do whatever it takes to help him maximize his happiness and potential, whatever that looks like. He has the best smile 🙂 The state we are moving to has year round schools and many services including GPS trackers, I am excited, scared and grateful.  We will be moving across the country in June and his therapist recommended that we create a sensory environment for him at our new home to help him adjust.  The problem is that there is no way I can afford the equipment.  I am reaching out for help, and it is hard.  If you feel you can donate in any way, we would be grateful.  I will also continue to update everyone on his progress as we make this transition.     You can donate here:  A Room for Angel.

calming_sensory_room
This is what we are hoping to move towards.  The equipment is mobile and can move with us.
7 thoughts on “A Room for Angel Fundraiser

    1. There is a link on this post for Go Fund Me, the problem with FB is that my students are on my page and it is not ethical for me to ask for money while I am still their teacher.

      1. You are probably right, it is hard to ask for help though. I know most of the people I work with and the families I know really would not have the money to help.

  1. I just found your page through Cheryl and want you to know someone understands how tough this is. My son was 4 when he was diagnosed with Autism and ADHD. The meltdowns that would last for hours, the self injury, the frustration is so tiring and wearing on the whole family.

    I don’t know where you are heading but hopefully there may be an Autism center there that can help you with supplies too. Some have lending libraries or pathways to low cost/no cost equipment.

    I am happy to email with you if you’d like. My son is now 12 and a whole world from where we were 8 years ago. My blog page is Whatsfordinnermoms.com. Also, look up AutismMommyAvenger.Com if you want she is a blogging friend out of PA. I was in NY and now in MI.

Leave a Reply

