Friday Favorites: My Favorite Food Blogs

friday favorites

–     Today I wanted to share with you a few of my favorite Cooking Blogs.  Fall is an exciting time for cooking, the cool weather and the smell of cinnamon, pumpkin and apples are commonplace in my home. I am by no means a cooking expert, I just have a large amount of cooking classes in my repertoire, many cook book reviews, a larger than life recipe collection.  In truth, I am a food lover and an amateur chef.  Despite my lack of formal training, one of the wonderful aspects of cooking is that you do not have to be a genius in the kitchen.  The food community is one that is willing to share and teach. For today’s Friday Favorites I am going to link you to a few of my favorite all-time cooking blogs that are truly inspirational.

Blog One:  Aapplemint.com

Lanzhou Chicken Noodle Soup

–    Photographer, fitness studio owner and mom are just a few of the many hats that Kajal Tejsinghani wears each day.  When I am looking for healthy but delicious food inspiration, she is one of the first blogs I turn to.  Her pictures are gorgeous (jealous here) and her recipes are not of the ordinary variety, nor are they easy to replicate. You will find that her recipes use grams and milliliters so you will need to do the conversions. There are online converters that make this easy like the one here.

My Favorite Recipe :  Extremely Health Granola.  I put this in a yogurt parfait with fresh berries.

Blog Two:  Local Milk

rosemary & lindt white chocolate truffle beignets

–     I have never met Beth Kirby and yet on some level I feel I know her well.  Her bio drew me into her blog and I am a true fan.  She is dark and light, mysterious and talented.  Working as a freelance stylist, photographer, and recipe developer she has made a name for herself.  She lets her readers know that she is not “in it for the simply pretty. I’m in it for contrast and mess, the counter-intuitive, the strange, and the dark. I’m a mystic with the moon forever in the corner of my eye.”  If her writing does not draw you into her blog, her recipes and photography will. My favorite recipe:  Lavender, Blueberry, Ricotta turnovers.

lavender blueberry & ricotta turnovers

Blog Three:  What Katie Ate

   

–     James Beard award winner Katie Quinn Davies now has two cookbooks under her belt:  What Katie Ate: Recipes and other bits and bobs, and What Katie Ate on the Weekends.  Originally from Dublin, Katie now works a a freelance photographer in Sydney Australia.  She has not only amassed a large following of viewers, she has many prestigious photos and recipes in some of the most popular magazines out there.  You can see Katie’s about page by clicking  here.  I really appreciate Katie’s twists on classics dishes, and the way her recipes make cooking approachable.

My Favorite Recipe: Smokey Bacon and Chicken and Mac and Cheese

 

Blog Four: David Lebovitz

New England Clam Chowder Recipe

–    Paris absolutely stole my heart last November, so it is no great surprise that the incredibly accomplished Mr. David Lebovitz and his amazing recipes would as well.  I have to admit I am a tad biased. He has authored seven cookbooks that provide readers with wit, humor and fantastic recipes, including one of my favorites, The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the Worlds Most Glorious CityWhen you visit his blog, you will find not only recipes, but also introductions to some of the best restaurants and food related articles.  I could easily spend hours going through all of his books and blog writings. Although it is very difficult to choose a favorite recipe, I am getting ready to attempt his New England Clam Chowder.  It is one of my all-time favorites.

Blog Five: Inspiralized

Inspiralized Cookbook

–     Ali Maffucci has taken healthy eating to a whole new level with her blog Inspiralized.  I became a fan after receiving a spiralizer in a subscription box.  My husband and I were pleasantly surprised at how delicious vegetable noodles tasted and we have been trying to incorporate them more in place of pasta.  Ali’s site offers readers free recipes with clear directions.

Goat Cheese Panzanella Salad with Spiralized Cucumbers

Favorite Recipe: Goat Cheese Panzanella Salad with Spiralized Cucumbers

I really wanted to limit this to five blogs, but I have to admit this is very difficult.  Visit my Pinterest page here to see more of my favorite food blogs.  I will definitely continue to share in the future.  If you visit any of these sites or try their recipes, please let me know how they turn out.  Here is to a great fall weekend with fantastic food, family and fun.

–J

One thought on “Friday Favorites: My Favorite Food Blogs

Leave a Reply

