The Book Drop “The Jane” Subscription Review

book drop boxDisclosure:  This box was sent to us for review purposes.  No money was exchanged and as always these are my own opinions.

The Book Drop
Cost:  $20 Jane/Ernest, $16  Young Adult and $13 Children
Shipping: United States

Screen-Shot-2015-06-02-at-9.47.44-PM

first look book drop jane IMG_3277

–     I love books, and if you are a reader of my blog you may have come across a book review or two.   Recently I realized that there is a whole world of book subscription boxes available to all ages.  With the holidays fast approaching, I could not think of a better subscription to give to kids, siblings, parents that love (or should love) to read.  The Book Drop is a newer subscription from long standing Bethany Books.  You can see several examples of past boxes on their site by clicking here.  Each month they promise at least one book and an explanation for their choice.  There are four subscriptions to choose from and they vary in price (see above).

Item One:  The Ice Cream Queen by Susan Jane Gilman ($11.53)

The Ice Cream Queen–     I started reading this book last night and I had to force myself to go to bed, and I mean force.  Once in awhile I know I have found a book that is so special I will remember it always; I have a feeling this will be added to that list.  The writing is very descriptive and beautiful. It is so easy to visualize the scenes.   I would never have picked a book up like this on my own, so I am very grateful to have come across this subscription.  If I had to guess, and the insert definitely leads one to believe, The Book Drop Staff most likely picked this book because ice cream in the summer is just as amazing as this author.

Here is a book summary from Goodreads:

In 1913, little Malka Treynovsky flees Russia with her family. Bedazzled by tales of gold and movie stardom, she tricks them into buying tickets for America. Yet no sooner do they land on the squalid Lower East Side of Manhattan, than Malka is crippled and abandoned in the street.

Taken in by a tough-loving Italian ices peddler, she manages to survive through cunning and inventiveness. As she learns the secrets of his trade, she begins to shape her own destiny. She falls in love with a gorgeous, illiterate radical named Albert, and they set off across America in an ice cream truck. Slowly, she transforms herself into Lillian Dunkle, “The Ice Cream Queen” — doyenne of an empire of ice cream franchises and a celebrated television personality.

Lillian’s rise to fame and fortune spans seventy years and is inextricably linked to the course of American history itself, from Prohibition to the disco days of Studio 54. Yet Lillian Dunkle is nothing like the whimsical motherly persona she crafts for herself in the media. Conniving, profane, and irreverent, she is a supremely complex woman who prefers a good stiff drink to an ice cream cone. And when her past begins to catch up with her, everything she has spent her life building is at stake.

Bonus Item:  Pop Party (Hardcover $17.96)

IMG_3258

–     I was really surprised to see a bonus book but after looking at other boxes, this is really not uncommon.  The value of just this bonus book is almost as much as the subscription.  We have a cake pop maker and I have yet to give it a try, this book may change that soon.  On almost every page you will find gorgeous photos. They are all visually stunning, and will probably make you hungry.  I also loved the ribbon book mark that matches the cakes on the first page.

IMG_3261

–     Also included was an Indie Bound insert with additional book recommendations.IMG_3283Value:  The Book Drop August 2015 box had a value (using my prices) of almost $30.  When you factor in shipping and the novelty behind the subscription, this really is a great box.  I keep thinking how awesome this would be to send to teens and children to encourage their reading journey.  Also, most adults would love this as a gift.  I know my family would, we are all huge readers.

What do you think of The Book Drop?

–J

One thought on “The Book Drop “The Jane” Subscription Review

Leave a Reply

