Thursday Thoughts: I Didn’t Start Out This Way

–     My Aunt recently walked by a homeless man and just felt the need to write.  These beautiful and touching words are what she found when she put her pen to paper.  If these words speak to you, consider donating your time or money to many of the local food banks or shelters in your area. 

I didn’t start out this way.
I used to have dreams and outside I would play
My imagination was my best friend
It would see me through the darkest bend
Then one day I woke up and here I am
I didn’t start out this way
I used to see the sun and stars
I used to reach for them…
They didn’t seem far
Now…. Here I am
I didn’t start out this way
I used to smile at the simplest of things
I used to wear a wedding ring
My children were my life
Yesterday is gone….
My memories fade
But… I know
I didn’t start out this way
For here I sit
On a store front stoop, pajama bottoms and a T-shirt
Smoking a cigarette
An emotionless being I am
People just stare at me…
I didn’t start out this way

Author:    Sandra Gmyrek

3 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: I Didn’t Start Out This Way

  1. Jenny, I run a soup kitchen Tuesdays and Thursdays (at our local church) which is where I just got home from. Serve 139 people today and this is a affluent beach town. Does not matter where they come from they are at my dinner table. No questions asked, they are treated with respect, kindness and given a hot meal. I fund the entire mission with the help of family, volunteers, contributors (for foods) I am picky with the very best ingredients I can get. I know all to well the above described individual. No one in America should be hungry especially ” No child hungry “. Cheryl

Leave a Reply

