OrangeGlad June 2015 Review

IMG_0040 (2)

This post contains referral links.

OrangeGlad
Cost:  $19 monthly (includes shipping) or $31 for their Double Box
Shipping:  US (Does not include Military APO/DPO/FPO or Territories)
Coupon: N/A

–     OrangeGlad sends gourmet treats monthly, their regular box ($19) sends out five treats however, this is a review for their Double Box which sends out two of each item.  There was a great coupon in May and we had to give this box a try. IMG_0038 (2) –    The box arrived the first week in June in great shape.  I did pop the items (except the crispys) in the refrigerator right away to make sure they retained their firmness.  Orange Glad guarantees all items are fresh and will replace items if you are not satisfied free of charge.

IMG_0053 (2)–     Each month you will receive a pamphlet outlining your items and the featured bakeries.  I appreciated that this subscription promotes small business.  You can purchase the items you like on the OrangeGlad website for significant member discounts.

 Item One:    Crispycakes in Cookies and Cream ($4.25 Each)

IMG_0045 (2)

–     The Crispery was founded by Vicki Mate in 1995 our of Little Rock Arkansas. This original take on rice treats could not be opened quick enough by my kids. These are handmade daily and customized for all occasions. We only purchased the two but, they were so large that about seven people ate from the two bars.  These are BIG and so good.

Item Two:  Raspberry-Matcha Cookie Sandwich ($7 for five pack)

IMG_0047

 Item Three:  Luscious Lemon Bar  ($2.50/3oz)

IMG_0048 (2)–     These zesty Lemon Bars are made by Fine Sconehenge Backing Co out of California. No preservatives are used in their baking and no mixes.  They were fantastic and made a nice summer treat.

 Item Four:  Italian Jelly Filled Linzer ($7.50/60z)

IMG_0049 (2)

–    Made by Cookies Con Amore out of Vista, CA. Two childhood friends from the village of Sant Ella in the south of Italy opened this shop and recreated these Linzers in honor of their grandmothers.  These tasted a bit like shortbread and I absolutely loved them!

Item Five:    Salted Beer and Pretzel Caramel ($8.99/4oz)

IMG_0051 (2)–     Becky’s Blissful Bakery is located in Pewaukee, Wisconsin and has an interesting back story.  Becky found herself unemployed and getting divorced in the same week.  She turned to comfort by cooking and has turned it into not only a profitable business, but she also uses proceeds for local nonprofits.  She is an avid supporter of the ‘Buy Local First’ movement. I found these caramels to be very unique tasting.  I normally hate the taste of beer, but these were mellow enough I really enjoyed them.  I hate to admit it, but I may have eaten most of these on my own.

Value:     I received this box at a huge discount.  I kept asking myself would I want to pay full price for this box.  The answer is a definite yes!  The value is there when you look at how much each item costs on its own. I really appreciate that OrangeGlad brings local bakers to the forefront and helps support small business.  The items were also fantastic. There was something in this box for everyone in my household, even my teens friends. Now I just need to stay away from their shop because it is dangerous in terms of my pocketbook.  I think we will be reviewing this box a lot in the future.

Are you interested in amazing baked good from small business owners?

-J

4 thoughts on “OrangeGlad June 2015 Review

Leave a Reply

