Thursday Thoughts Pre-School Tours

–     Today not only am I hooking up with Jen over at Subscription Box Ramblings, but it is also the day I start taking B to Preschool tours and interviews.  I actually feel a knot in my stomach as I write this.  Is it really supposed to be this nerve racking?  I am a huge fan of Public Education and Universal Education with equalized funding.  Unfortunately, that is not what we see where I live.  The income disparities based on neighborhoods are discouraging.  My daughter cannot even get into the Public Preschool by my  house without being chosen. If this is their way to solve the problem, they are foolish.  Our kids need school funding and better services.  Our schools are so underfunded that there are Kindergarten classes with 25-30 kids and only one teacher.  Despite being on a limited income, my husband and I decide that for our daughter’s sake we are going to find a private Montessori school that fits our needs.

–     I am a big fan of Montessori.  B will be my first child that I teach through this method.  Traditional education has served my oldest five well but my youngest two have some special needs and varying learning styles.  That being said, I know they need some special focus.  B currently is in Speech Therapy and A is about to start both Occupational and Speech.  He was diagnosed as mild to moderate autistic a few weeks ago.  My world is not shattered, but I know I have my work cut out for me.  I have hope he will live a normal life with services, but unfortunately at 2, we do not know a whole lot of information.  That is what we do as moms, the best we can with what we know. We do the work because we know our kids deserve us to do whatever it takes to help them be successful.

–     The school I am touring today has a 7:1 student-guide ratio.  They approach learning from the student’s perspective, in other words they see what drives her and what learning style are best suited towards her strengths.  My only concern with Montessori regarding B, is that you really have to be a motivated learner to maximize on this style of education.   I do believe B will be okay in that area with her dad and I monitoring each step.  Money of course is the other concern, but somehow we will make it work.  It is just finding that balance.

–     All of this aside, I get so nervous going around new people.  My mother jokes with me that I am an introverted extrovert.  I do talk, and I do love people but it zaps my energy.  If I feel like I am being judged, it really zaps my energy.  I think this will be even worse if I feel like my child is being judged…does this make sense?  My Aunt Kathy said if the school seems like a good fit, it will happen.  I hope this is true.  I also hope I am worrying for nothing.  I could use some positive vibes today!

–J

3 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts Pre-School Tours

      1. Gosh, I did not realize it was such a problem in your area? Down here I did not have any difficulty in my choice of Montessori pre-school for the twins. You could very well open your own State approved Pre school! Why not?

Leave a Reply

