Simple Sunny Sunday: Fall Cravings

The simple life on a restful Sunday.

https://scontent-a-dfw.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/p296x100/10349884_10203500849614821_286414614331110029_n.jpg?oh=49037b945dcea4bc17aa787317413827&oe=5493F029
B’s birthday tutu and bow have arrived and she is practically living in it.

I had the most glorious plans today to take the kids outdoors and have a picnic at Pumpkin Town.  The fall weather has arrived and expressed itself to me this morning in the form of gray clouds and pouring rain. My husband has to work today so our pumpkin fun will most likely have to be postponed until next weekend. Especially since I cannot imagine chasing an almost 2 and 4 year old by myself out in public.  Call me a wimp but I know my kids, they will run in different directions.

In the spirit of keeping Sunny Sundays fun and simple I decided to share with you all things “fall” I am craving.  These are not kid items, they are just simply items I would like to purchase.  Many items I cannot afford all at once but maybe over time.  These items I feel are durable, comfortable and fun for the fall.

Shoes, shoes and more shoes….

Bailey Bow Corduroy Uggs ($200.00/free shipping). Zappos.com

I am originally from New York and the winters can be brutal.  Snow begins to fall as early as October.  Uggs are very durable but what sold me on looking past the price was how absolutely comfortable they are once you put them on.  They don’t make your feet too hot and they felt like a treat as I was walking into the Court House in the mornings (I used to be an attorney).

Converse Chuck Taylor® All Star® Core Ox $44.95 at Zappos.com

I love Converse shoes but I am finding that they do not support my feet as much as I would like.  It will not stop me from wearing these to work on dress down days.

Shop our BouTiek
Tieks by Gavrieli. I love the California Navy ($175.00).http://tieks.com/california-navy.html

I am getting ready to go to Paris in November and China in March and I have read wonderful reviews about Tieks and travel.  They are compact and fold into your bag and just slip on.  My only concern is support but I may have to give these a try.  I was a little bummed because recently I missed out on a $100.00 off coupon in a subscription box.  Hoping the coupon may show up again.

Cameras, for fun and travel…

Canon PowerShot A2500 16MP Digital Camera with 5x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom with 2.7-Inch LCD (Red)
Canon PowerShot A2500 16MP Digital Camera with 5x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom with 2.7-Inch LCD (Red) $109.99 Amazon

People are always surprised when I tell them how much I love my Canon cameras. I am by no means an expert photographer and find Canons are easy to use and my pictures come out great.  After four years of rough use my last canon just stopped working.  I plan to purchase another one this month for blogging purposes and for my upcoming trips.

Fujifilm Instax Mini 8 Instant Film Camera (Blue) $68.99 Amazon

I loved my Polaroid instant camera when I was a kid.  I think this would be fun to have around the house and to use on a rainy day with the kids.  The film is instant and they even have “rainbow” frame instant film.  There is also a mini bundle which may be fun to take on my trips.

And in the kitchen……

Cuisinart MSC-600 3-In-1 Cook Central 6-Quart Multi-Cooker: Slow Cooker, Brown/Saute, Steamer Current Price $143.99 on Amazon.

Recently B dropped and broke the middle insert of my very old and used crock pot.  I had it about ten years and I loved it, but it was on its last leg. I have been eyeing this Cuisinart model for quite some time.  The reviews are great on amazon and I know William Sonoma sells a version as well.  The insert can be used to brown meets on the stove top which is great for safety purposes.

In the fall I make cinnamon apple sauce, chai tea, and pumpkin spice lattes in the crock pot as treats for my family.  The whole house smells amazing as these recipes are slow cooking.  I will have to find a replacement asap.  Here are a few of my families favorite recipes.  I try to use organic ingredients as much as possible.

Hot Tamale Applesauce Recipe I use:  http://www.food.com/recipe/cinnamon-applesauce-18554

My favorite slow cooker Chai Tea Recipehttp://allrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-chai/

Family Time…..

Munchkin Deluxe Edition. You can find this at your local book store, online or at Amazon. $20.00

     Note:  Make sure if you purchase this game that you look to see if your game is an add on or has the game board included.  Many of the add on games and even the smaller version of the original expects you to create your own board.  It is much easier to you with their game board which is usually found in the deluxe model.

My oldest Katie has many versions of the board game Munchkin and I am amazed how every time we see her all of my older kids 8-22, will get together and play for hours with family and friends.  I joined them this summer and it is really quite addicting. On dark fall nights I can vision alliances forming, backstabbing occurring and a victor or two left standing in the end.  I have never seen anyone walk away angry from this game but my daughter has informed me that she and her boyfriend have had a few “knock drag out fights” because of this game.  Some how they recovered 🙂

Munchkin this summer at Grandma’s house.

I am planning on expanding my subscription reviews so my budget will not be as large as it once was but if I have any extra money this fall, all of my cravings are definitely on my radar.

What do you think?

—J

Leave a Reply

